Day 35: RIP I’ve Sweets Factory

by Theresa

I’ve officially been away of the U.S. for 35 days. It seems like forever, yet not very long at all. Thanks to easy access of technology and the abundance of computers and cellular devices throughout the states, I am able to contact my loved ones on a daily basis, if need be. I’m sure that this plays some role in my feeling of connectedness, even though so much can change over the course of nearly five weeks.  New lives are brought into this world, friends move to different states, new jobs begin, the radio plays different music, relationships are fostered, and you can even drive from one side of the country to the other with plenty of time to stop and smell the roses.

In fact, so much can change in even just a few days. You could leave one place on a Thursday, with no indications of change in sight, only to come back Sunday, to see it all demolished and essentially gone forever.

Screen Shot 2013-07-29 at 1.34.06 AM
Can you see the man smashing the glass?

RIP I’ve Sweets Factory. I feel somewhat lost without you. Like all that is right with Taichung has been warped by the twilight zone. If I had known that you only had a few days left with us, I would have depleted your supplies of pumpkin bread, for myself to eat every day—as well as to line my suitcases with. All that I can say is that I wish I could read the sign above your door, so that I might make some sense of this nonsensical world we live in. In times like these, we are completely powerless except to focus on the positive. So at least I figured out the final missing ingredient while I still had time.

In your memory, I will recreate pumpkin bread to introduce to Ohioans and Pennsylvanians alike,  bringing honor, glory, and the reputation of a really delicious-smelling kitchen to your name.

Gone but never forgotten…

IMG_4634IMG_4719 IMG_4722IMG_4804 IMG_5577IMG_4901  IMG_4900

