Days 12 & 13: “Let’s get down to business…”

by Theresa

To defeat the Huns!

Title too weird? You can be honest. I couldn’t think of anything much more clever.

Basically, I got down to business this weekend and did a whole lot of homework, while also spending Saturday night at the KTV! Does it make sense now? Business & Karaoke? Singing? I tried.

(Click the links if you have no idea what I’m talking about). 

Basically, that’s all I have to tell you about. I’ll throw in some pictures of more lovely sites and delicious food too, just to make you fēicháng jídù (very jealous).

Saturday’s Breakfast:

IMG_4643

I thought this was like Great Harvest Dakota bread when I bought it, but then I took a  bite:

IMG_4646

I’m in love!! I already have a second loaf sitting on my desk, lending sweet whispers of “breakfast… breakfast… a few more hours…”

All of Saturday morning was researching, reading, and writing! Stopped for banana milk on the way to KTV:

IMG_4647 IMG_4650

Here’s the recipe according to how I saw them make it:

*1 1/2 ripe bananas

*1 T sugar

*8 oz. whole milk

*ice and water to taste

***Place in blender and spin away!

I personally prefer thicker drinks, while the consistency of this drink was very close to what you might imagine a milk drink to taste like. I am excited to make my own banana milk back in the states with almond milk and/or protein powder!

**SPOILER ALERT** KTV Karaoke is NOT American Karaoke! You get a private room, with free buffet and butler service. I’m pretty sure we were there for four hours.

IMG_4651 IMG_4652 IMG_4667

The following pictures are from my Sunday morning walk with my roommate. We took a trail up to the Taichung Metropolitan Park:

IMG_4672 IMG_4674 IMG_4675 IMG_4677 IMG_4678 IMG_4679 IMG_4680

IMG_4691

Once we got there, we met up with our AU professor, her granddaughter, and our PU host, Greta. We bought more banana milk (made with honey this time!), and Greta shared some dragon fruit and lychee with us–local, seasonal fruits.

IMG_4686IMG_4685 IMG_4688 IMG_4689 IMG_4690

Lunchtime fail today. 7/11 Salad & packaged Seaweed Miso Soup. I may or may not have snacked on some crackers, peanut butter, and chocolate this afternoon as well…

IMG_4695

Before we knew it, it was time to venture for dinner! One of our friends hadn’t been to Nu Pasta before, so after wandering around looking for something new (and taking 200 pictures of the most incredible rainbow I’ve ever seen), we decided he needed to try it.

IMG_4712

IMG_4708 IMG_4709 IMG_4710

This is my curry chicken box toast. Some websites call this type of meal coffin bread, which is a must-try for foreigners. It was very good–the bread was more like a croissant than white toast.  However, next time I will be ordering more pasta!

IMG_4713

We’ve since decided that we should have a Sunday Supper at Nu Pasta.

Only 4 sundays left! 

